Remembering the carnival

Remembering the carnival

Many, many years ago I was “Carnie” folk. I worked for a summer with a travelling fair; I ran rides, helped tear down and set them up, spent long hours in the hot sun, taking tickets and working on my tan. Was one of the best jobs I ever had, (even if I did get paid a very minimal wage), because I got to travel, meet new people, experience different cultures. One town I visited was in the mountains and it seemed like every woman was pregnant. No joke, EVERY. WOMAN. It was the oddest thing. This photo was taken at a local fair a couple years back, and every time I look at it, see the lights, smell the goodies, I’m always reminded of that summer. I don’t think I’ll never forget my days working at the fair.

2 thoughts on “Remembering the carnival

    • Yes and no. In town, it was very small, but it is a country town that is along a major highway. Sultan, WA was where this one was taken. My children and I would walk from one end to the other in about 20 minutes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

